Here goes………….hopefully something

Here goes….the blog for the solo traveler.   I don’t consider myself a travel expert or even a solo travel expert, but I do have ideas that I want to share.  I want to hear from others–I scour reviews for attractions and hotels when I’m in planning/researching mode for an upcoming trip.

I have a few ideas about how I want to structure the blog, but I’m willing to let things grow organically if my ideas don’t get the responses I’m hoping for.  I would like to discuss traveling tips, trip prep, post pictures, share anecdotes, set up polls–we’ll see how things go.  I plan on diving into my travel journals as well as discuss off the cuff  topics.

I’m not sure how often I’ll blog–weekly maybe bi-weekly if I’m very productive.  I would love to create a community of like-minded people who just want to share their traveling tips and pics.  I will probably drive much discussion toward the solo traveler, but I have some interesting and funny experiences that I would love to share from my non-solo travels.

So where have I been?  Where do I aspire to go?

I love London–if I ever won the lottery–my vacation home would be a 1 bedroom flat in central London for easy access to other desired destinations.  I have visited London 6 times and I hope to go again soon.  When I go to London, it’s my home base if you will and I plan several day trips out of the city.

I also visited Scotland & Wales (for a day) within Great Britain.  I’ve managed to get to Ireland, France, Netherlands, Belgium, Monaco, Switzerland, Hungary, Austria, and the Czech Republic.

I have a trip in the works to the south of Spain with my sister and maybe a solo return trip to Vienna in 2015.  I would love to take time to travel extensively in Italy or through Scandinavia during the summer break.  I’ve considered trying to work overseas during the summer, but my school schedule doesn’t really jive with European summer schedules.

So why blog now?

I’ve had the idea in mind since I started traveling by myself, but I let life get in the way.  During my recent trip to Amsterdam, I met two other ladies traveling solo on one of my day trips out of the city.  We had a lovely time talking during lunch about where we traveled and how people respond with surprise to the fact that 1. we braved solo travel, 2. we liked it, and 3. we would repeat the experience.  Meeting these ladies stiffened my resolve to move forward with the blog.

So tell me, what city is calling your name?

Victoria

London's calling....

Leave a Reply

