I’m going to…..Italy!

Ahh….Italy….never been there and that surprises the heck out of most people.  They expect with all of the European traveling I have done over the last 8 years that I’ve traveled through one of the most desired European destinations.  Nope, never been and Italian was the foreign language of choice during college so it was only a matter of time before I finally decided I needed to see Italy.

rome

I have plans for a trip in the spring when Italy isn’t too hot and since I can only spare a week–I will be focused on Rome and the surrounding area.  Another reason I’m focused on Rome is that I’m trying to convince my sister and her husband to meet me.  My sister’s husband’s office has a location in Rome, so he can work and my sister and I can play!  We can meet him every night for dinner and nightlife.  We’ll save some sightseeing for him on the weekends.  It sounds selfish, but truthfully her husband doesn’t like to travel much let alone take big vacations.

Rome-Ita-trevirome-tours-walks

I’ve been researching some trips and I think I’ve narrowed down where in Rome I want to stay–around the Coliseum.  The Spanish Steps will be closed for renovation this spring which is disappointing, but hopefully this won’t be my only visit to Rome.  I plan on seeing the major sights including Vatican City (and buy blessed rosary beads).  I hope to make a couple day-trips outside of the city.  Villa Borghese and the Borghese Galleries (just outside of the city center) look like they could take up a whole day.  I would love to see Pompeii or Naples or even Capri, but I would have to do more digging to see if any of those locations are possible on a day-trip from Rome.

rome-and-colosseum-half-day-walking-tour-in-rome-114992

Future trips to Italy I would love to see Venice, Milan, Florence (and Pisa), Naples, Capri, Sicily, and Sardinia.  I have many Italian holidays to plan in the future!

2 thoughts on “I’m going to…..Italy!

  1. You are going to love it, Rome is our favourite place. For your day trip you should consider visiting a place called Villa d’Este. We wrote a small blog about it a while back. We really enjoyed it and it’s not too far from Rome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

